Digital Media: Creative Brief (Work, Rest, Play)

The brief is to set up and shoot three sets of images. There must be 10 or more images in each set.

  • Set 1: Entitled ‘Work’
  • Set 2: Entitled ‘Rest’
  • Set 3: Entitled ‘Play’

The images must be your own work and capture the essence of the module in terms of digital media

Work

With work i want to look at social media, homing in more on Twitter. Everyone tweets, all the time, even when they’re supposed to be working. I want to use Location services on twitter to explore the different locations where people are working. Once i’ve found where people are working, I would like to use google maps on street view, then take a screen shot of where they are working and use the screen shot as an image to present.

I have researched into a project called ‘Geolocation’ by Nate Larson and Marni Shindelman. In this project they looked at people tweeting with location services, then actually visited these places and took a picture at the location the tweet was sent. While I wouldn’t have the time to visit each location I find, this project is still my main inspiration for my idea.

Another photographer who has inspired me is a man called ‘Jon Rafman‘. Rafman does all his photography without a camera. He searches for hours through google maps, and then takes screen shots of places around the globe which he thinks look interesting. Some of the photos are stunning sceneries, some are of people, some are even quite humorous!

After a lot longer than I expected of trawling through Twitter to find people tweeting at work with location services on, here are the 10 images which I made.

image 1 image 2 image 3 image 4 image 5 image 6 image 7 image 8 image 9 image 10

Rest

For rest, I would like to look at the different places where people choose to rest. Resting for me, can be done in a number of different ways, lying in bed, sitting on the sofa watching television, listening to music, these can all be done alone or with company. A place of rest is a place where my body and mind can relax. I want to explore the different places people choose to do this. I will do a set of photographs for my own places of rest, then start to explore my friends and peers.

Carolyn Lefley (who taught us for a module in first year) did a project called ‘The Watchers’ in which she photographed people’s empty living rooms, but only lit by the television. She would use long exposures and a tripod to achieve the photographs she made for this project and get the full potential out of the light coming from the televisions.

I have also taken a look at Gabriela Herman at her ‘bloggers’ project.

Gabriela dedicated a whole project to taking pictures of people using just their computer or laptop to light the room, so the whole room was dark apart from the screen and a small area around the screen. To me, this project shows how focused we are when staring at our laptops, it’s like we’re completely staring into another world and are unaware of what’s going on around us.

I would like to try something similar to Garbiela’s and Carolyn’s project, something working with light coming from electronic devices, weather it be a television, laptop, iPod, phone etc

Here are the images which I made for rest.

_DSC0023 _DSC0024 _DSC0031 _DSC0038 _DSC0040 _DSC0045 _DSC0049 _DSC0050 _DSC0052 _DSC0054

Play

For play I would like to look at how everyone seems to be documenting their ‘play’ time and uploading it to the internet via social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Vine etc). Everyone wants everyone else to know what they’re doing in the form of images taken on their mobile phones. I want to go out and make a small documentary montage of found images from these forms of social media.

PLAY

This entry was published on February 4, 2014 at 4:39 pm and is filed under 252MC. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment